Remote start coverage of 2010-2026 vehicles by make
Short answer: Of 1,508 gas, diesel and hybrid vehicle configurations from model years 2010 to 2026 in our dataset, 941 (62.4%) have a Fortin install guide that we verified on page 1. Hyundai has the highest verified share of any make with at least 20 configurations, at 86.8% (92 of 106). Audi has the lowest, at 16.4% (12 of 73).
Data source: Fortin Electronic Systems public guide index, guide PDFs and vehicle pages, checked 2026-10-16. RemoteStarterCheck is independent and not affiliated with Fortin. Always confirm with your installer or the manufacturer.
Downloads: coverage_by_make.csv (summary table) · coverage_by_ignition.csv · coverage_by_start_year.csv · summary.json · coverage_study.py (the script that made all of them)

Headline numbers
| Measure | Result |
|---|---|
| Configurations studied (gas, diesel, hybrid) | 1,508 |
| Makes / models | 32 / 427 |
| Model years covered | 2010 to 2026 |
| Verified with a Fortin guide (page 1 check) | 941 (62.4%) |
| Any Fortin guide reference (verified plus guide index listing) | 1,077 (71.4%) |
| Listed by Fortin, no guide confirmed by us | 431 (28.6%) |
| Push-to-start configurations starting 2015 or later, verified | 448 of 643 (69.7%) |
| Verified configurations with a named T-harness part | 478 of 941 (50.8%) |
| Verified configurations with a minimum firmware on page 1 | 904 of 941 |
| Hybrid configurations, verified | 65 of 127 |
| Tesla rows excluded (no engine to start) | 5 |
Coverage by make
Makes with fewer than 20 configurations are shown but flagged. Their percentages swing a lot on one or two rows, so we don't rank them.
| Make | Models | Configurations | Verified | Index only | Listed only | Verified % | Any guide % |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toyota | 30 | 202 | 157 | 22 | 23 | 77.7 | 88.6 |
| Ford | 36 | 189 | 99 | 19 | 71 | 52.4 | 62.4 |
| Kia | 21 | 116 | 85 | 14 | 17 | 73.3 | 85.3 |
| Hyundai | 22 | 106 | 92 | 7 | 7 | 86.8 | 93.4 |
| Chevrolet | 27 | 89 | 60 | 4 | 25 | 67.4 | 71.9 |
| Nissan | 24 | 78 | 57 | 12 | 9 | 73.1 | 88.5 |
| Volkswagen | 15 | 78 | 52 | 5 | 21 | 66.7 | 73.1 |
| Audi | 28 | 73 | 12 | 3 | 58 | 16.4 | 20.5 |
| Subaru | 13 | 70 | 41 | 7 | 22 | 58.6 | 68.6 |
| Honda | 13 | 62 | 39 | 3 | 20 | 62.9 | 67.7 |
| Ram | 8 | 57 | 26 | 2 | 29 | 45.6 | 49.1 |
| Mazda | 17 | 43 | 28 | 3 | 12 | 65.1 | 72.1 |
| Lexus | 28 | 39 | 25 | 14 | 0 | 64.1 | 100.0 |
| Dodge | 13 | 34 | 20 | 2 | 12 | 58.8 | 64.7 |
| Infiniti | 24 | 31 | 13 | 3 | 15 | 41.9 | 51.6 |
| Jeep | 9 | 31 | 22 | 0 | 9 | 71.0 | 71.0 |
| GMC | 6 | 27 | 19 | 0 | 8 | 70.4 | 70.4 |
| Mitsubishi | 11 | 27 | 13 | 3 | 11 | 48.1 | 59.3 |
| Cadillac | 13 | 26 | 11 | 2 | 13 | 42.3 | 50.0 |
| Acura | 11 | 24 | 19 | 1 | 4 | 79.2 | 83.3 |
| Lincoln | 10 | 24 | 13 | 2 | 9 | 54.2 | 62.5 |
| Buick | 8 | 23 | 16 | 2 | 5 | 69.6 | 78.3 |
| Chrysler (small sample) | 6 | 15 | 5 | 2 | 8 | 33.3 | 46.7 |
| Volvo (small sample) | 12 | 15 | 0 | 0 | 15 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Scion (small sample) | 5 | 8 | 7 | 1 | 0 | 87.5 | 100.0 |
| BMW (small sample) | 7 | 7 | 0 | 0 | 7 | 0.0 | 0.0 |
| Mercedes-Benz (small sample) | 1 | 4 | 1 | 2 | 1 | 25.0 | 75.0 |
| Suzuki (small sample) | 3 | 3 | 2 | 1 | 0 | 66.7 | 100.0 |
| Fiat (small sample) | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 100.0 | 100.0 |
| Genesis (small sample) | 2 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 100.0 | 100.0 |
| Porsche (small sample) | 1 | 2 | 2 | 0 | 0 | 100.0 | 100.0 |
| Mercury (small sample) | 1 | 1 | 1 | 0 | 0 | 100.0 | 100.0 |
What stands out
Hyundai and Kia are the easiest brands to document. Hyundai sits at 86.8% verified and Kia at 73.3%. A lot of that comes from one harness family: THAR-ONE-KHY2 is named on 60 verified configurations, more than any other T-harness in the data. If you drive a key-start Elantra or Tucson, see the 2019-2021 Tucson standard key page for how that looks.
Toyota is the biggest make and still near the top. 202 configurations, 157 verified (77.7%). Add the 22 rows where Fortin's guide index lists the vehicle but our page 1 check didn't match, and Toyota reaches 88.6%. The Toyota RAV4 model page shows every year and key type.
Ford is big and patchy. 189 configurations, but only 99 verified (52.4%), with 71 listed only. Ford's lineup splits into many key variants (standard key, key with keyless, key without keyless, push-to-start, trim-specific XL/XLT rows), and each variant is its own configuration. More rows means more places for a guide match to fail. The F-150 model page has 20 configurations on its own.
Audi's 16.4% says more about our data than about Audi. 58 of Audi's 73 configurations are listed only: Fortin has a vehicle page, but we couldn't tie a specific guide to it on page 1. That is a gap in what we have confirmed, not proof that Audis can't take a remote starter. Treat every listed-only page, such as the 2010-2016 Audi A4 TDI key port page, as "not yet verified."
Newer isn't always better documented. Verified share climbs from 47.6% for configurations whose first model year is 2010 to 2012, up to 76.8% for 2019 to 2021, then drops to 59.1% for 2022 to 2024 and 54.7% for 2025 to 2026. The newest rows often sit in Fortin's guide index before the page 1 vehicle table matches our years, so their "any guide" share stays high (80.2% for 2025 to 2026).
By first model year of the configuration
| First model year | Configurations | Verified | Verified % | Any guide % |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 2010-2012 | 391 | 186 | 47.6 | 56.5 |
| 2013-2015 | 298 | 203 | 68.1 | 72.1 |
| 2016-2018 | 239 | 167 | 69.9 | 79.1 |
| 2019-2021 | 259 | 199 | 76.8 | 84.9 |
| 2022-2024 | 235 | 139 | 59.1 | 69.4 |
| 2025-2026 | 86 | 47 | 54.7 | 80.2 |
By ignition type
| Ignition class | Configurations | Verified | Verified % | Any guide % |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Push-to-start | 851 | 563 | 66.2 | 76.4 |
| Turn key (standard, H key, G key, key port) | 625 | 371 | 59.4 | 67.0 |
| Not stated in source | 32 | 7 | 21.9 | 25.0 |
Push-to-start vehicles are better documented than key-start ones in this data, 66.2% against 59.4%. If you assumed a push-button car would be the hard one to find a guide for, the Fortin numbers say otherwise.
Method
- Input.
vehicles.csv, 1,513 rows, built on 2026-10-16 from Fortin's public EVO-ONE and EVO-ALL guide index pages, page 1 of each guide PDF, and Fortin's public vehicle pages. One row is one configuration: make, model, year range and ignition type as Fortin labels it. Each row maps to one vehicle page on our site. - Exclusions. The 5 Tesla rows are dropped because there is no engine to remote start. That leaves 1,508.
- Status buckets.
- Verified: page 1 of the Fortin guide has a vehicle table line naming the model, a year range covering the row, and a matching ignition type.
- Index only: Fortin's guide index lists the vehicle, but our page 1 check didn't match or the PDF wasn't read (136 rows).
- Listed only: Fortin has a public vehicle page, but we didn't confirm a guide (431 rows).
- Ignition classes. Fortin's raw labels (over 100 distinct strings) are grouped by keyword: anything with "push", "intelligent key", "smart key", "proximity" or "fast keyless" is push-to-start; anything with "key", "key port" or "transponder" is turn key; the rest (such as "Gas", "Sedan", "Limited") is "not stated."
- Year buckets use the first year of each row's range.
- Rounding. Percentages are rounded to one decimal.
- Run
python3 coverage_study.pyfrom this folder to rebuild every number on this page.
Limits
- Coverage is Fortin's, not the market's. This measures documented Fortin EVO-ONE and EVO-ALL paths. Compustar, iDatalink, Directed/Viper and others publish their fit through interactive lookups, so we couldn't include them. A vehicle with no Fortin guide here may still have an option from another brand.
- Our matcher is strict on purpose. It prefers missing a real match over claiming a false one. Some "listed only" and "index only" rows will turn out to be fine once a person reads the guide.
- Configurations are not sales. A rare trim counts the same as a best seller. This is not the share of cars on the road.
- Rows can overlap. Fortin sometimes lists the same year twice under different labels (for example a "Hybrid Push-to-start" row and a "Push-to-start Hybrid" row). We count rows as Fortin labels them.
- The dataset is not every vehicle. Some makes have very few rows (BMW 7, Mercedes-Benz 4, Porsche 2), so we don't draw conclusions for them.
- "Verified" is about documentation. It means a guide exists for that configuration. It doesn't say the install is easy, cheap, or that your exact trim, options or region match.
Cite this study
RemoteStarterCheck (2026). Remote start coverage of 2010-2026 vehicles by make. Data checked 2026-10-16, published 2026-10-17. https://remotestartercheck.com/data/remote-start-coverage-by-make-2010-2026/ Source data: Fortin Electronic Systems public install guides.
FAQ
Does "verified" mean my car can definitely get remote start? It means a Fortin install guide covers that make, model, year range and ignition type. Your trim, options and region can still change the parts list. Always confirm with your installer or the manufacturer.
Why is a make I know is popular so low? Mostly because of listed-only rows. Fortin shows the vehicle, but we haven't yet matched a guide to it. Ram (29 listed only of 57) and Audi (58 of 73) are the big examples.
Can I reuse this data? You can quote the numbers with a link to this page. The CSV summary is our own count. The underlying vehicle facts come from Fortin's public guides.
How often will this be updated?
We'll rerun the script whenever vehicles.csv changes and update the date at the top of this page.
Sources
- RemoteStarterCheck
vehicles.csv, built 2026-10-16 (see DATA_README for how it was built) - Fortin EVO-ONE guide index: https://fortin.ca/en/products/guides/evo-series-modules/evo-one/
- Fortin EVO-ALL guide index: https://fortin.ca/en/products/guides/evo-series-modules/evo-all/
- Fortin guide PDFs, page 1: https://cdn02.fortin.ca/download/ (each vehicle page links its own guide)
- Fortin public vehicle pages: https://fortin.ca/en/vehicles/